Foundation Announces 2018 National & District Scholarship Recipients

The Phi Kappa Psi Foundation Board of Trustees is proud to announce the awarding of $103,235 in National and District Scholarships to six graduate and 39 undergraduate Phi Psis pursuing their academic goals.

These brothers exemplify academic excellence and dedication to their chapters, campuses and communities. They show exemplary leadership on and off campus and meritorious service to others living out Phi Psi’s motto, “The Great Joy of Serving Others.”

The 2018 recipients are:

Outstanding Solon E. Summerfield Award
Connor Burwell Lafayette ’16

Outstanding Solon E. Summerfield Runners-up
Ethan Cravener Case Western ’14
Lior Wolf Franklin & Marshall ’16

Solon E. Summerfield Awards
Alex Coker Auburn Colony
Michael England Mississippi ’17
David Grinsfelder Cal ’15
Joseph Paolucci Akron ’15

Ralph “Dud” Daniel Leadership Award
David Carlyn Kent State ’18

Founders Graduate Awards
Ahmet Aksoy East Carolina ’08
Shyam Kurian Rutgers ’14
Anthony Vukusich Indiana State ’06
Jason Woodruff Iowa ’14

William H. Blanning Graduate Awards
Jeffrey Akers Ashland ’01
Austin Borja Penn ’15

Ernest Garbe Award
Ryan Chandler Texas ’17

Winston “Win” Tate Awards
Caleb Alles Valparaiso ’17
Kyle Cate Kent State ’14

Watkins Christian Scholar Awards
Colin Little Missouri Colony
Sean Luo Illinois ’17

Ruddick C. Lawrence Awards
James Catania Akron ’15
Vincent Parise University of Illinois, Chicago’17

William R. Walker Award
Aaron Kahn Ohio State’12

Jerry Nelson Award
Kevin Paternostro Oregon State ’15

Mary Pickford-Rogers Memorial Award
Adison Chang Stanford ’15

Phillip M. Cornelius Award
Jarod Farchione RIT ’16

Ben King Award
David Sydnor James Madison Colony

Schroeder Family Finance Award
Youngseo “Young” Joo Texas ’17

District I Awards
Joseph Discua RIT ’14
Josh Lieb Franklin & Marshall ’16
Eric Rawot Penn ’17

District II Awards
Nathan Lee Case Western ’14
Ryan Moffo Muskingum ’16
Kyle Wissel Ashland ’15

District III Awards
Nicolas Egierski Ball State ’17
Thomas Jacocks Ball State ’15
Nicholas Vogl Toledo ’16

District IV Awards
David Bock Alabama ’17
Sam Dethrow Mississippi ’16
Jordan Zarzaur Mississippi ’18

District V Awards
Raghav Kotha Texas ’17
Travis Long Texas ’17
Michigan Trunkel Minnesota ’17

District VI Awards
Isaac Altuna UC-Riverside ’14
Casey Daly Cal Tech ’16
Tristan Traub SDSU ’15

 National and District Scholarship applications are available online between September 15 and March 1 annually. Learn more about Phi Kappa Psi Foundation’s scholarship program and encourage brothers to apply. 


Phi Kappa Psi Foundation

The charitable arm of Phi Kappa Psi, the Phi Kappa Psi Foundation was established in 1914 to foster the development of leaders and promote academic excellence in higher education. Today, through contributions from generous donors, these priorities remain with the Foundation funding grants in three key areas benefiting the lives of Phi Psis across the nation: leadership, scholarship and housing.