A Day on the Greens with Phi Psi

Author: Stephanie Miller
Published: August 17, 2010

Nearly 40 golfers ascended on the Grand Cypress New Course for the second biennial Phi Psi Foundation Founders Cup. The outing hosted in Orlando, Florida on Wednesday, July 28th, kicked off the 75th Grand Arch Council and offered the opportunity for fellow Phi Psis to test their golf skills. The New Course, Jack Nicklaus’ tribute and homage to the famed Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland is a Scottish links masterpiece, complete with double greens, stone bridges and walls, gorse mounds, burns and pot bunkers as deep as 12 feet, all in the spirit of true Scottish original! Players were pleased with the course selection as it provided great tournament play although the weather was another story! In the end, the teams battled it out, despite the heat, to win bragging rights.

Pennington and Company’s John Ziegelmeyer Jr. Kansas ’70, A. Scott Noble Texas ’81 and the Texas Alpha Chapter sponsored holes while the Phi Psi Foundation sponsored the Hole In One Contest offering a $10,000 cash prize. Although no one won the cash prize, several other contest winners included Kayla Brown, the Fraternity Headquarters’ summer intern and only female golfer in the bunch, who won the Longest Drive contest, taking the honors from the 2008 winner, Will Haskett Butler ’00. Additionally, Bruce Morgan Valparaiso ’06 won the Closest to the Pin contest.

Team “Viva la Vuvuzela” which included Shawn Collinsworth Indiana State ’91, Mike Hauck Ohio State ’89, Kevin Marks Valparaiso ’92 and Bruce Morgan Valparaiso ’06 did not disappoint this year. Their attire was on par based upon their past golf outing regalia. Donning Team Portugal red and green, in tribute not only to the recent World Cup but also the Fraternity’s colors, they provided the on course entertainment for all those present that day!

At the end of 18 holes, the Green Seekers team which included Jim Boyle Washington ’88, Will Haskett Butler ’00, Bruce Jackson Case Western ’70 and A. Scott Noble Texas ’81, walked away with the cup, shooting 14 under. The second place team, “Team S.T.A.F.F.” included Kyle Hickman Lycoming ’07, Mark Lipka Lycoming ’04 and Corey Peart Valparaiso ’05. Brothers Haskett and Jackson, also a part of the winning team in 2008, yet again added their names to prized Founders Cup trophy housed at Laurel Hall. Congratulations to all the winners and those that braved the heat to play a round of golf and support the Phi Psi Foundation!



Back to News Main